Day 1

Now that I’ve gotten that long winded initial post out of the way, I should probably put some content down for my first day.

The Plan: Lose 20lbs in 14 weeks while training for a half marathon

Starting Size: 182.5lbs, size 8-10 pants and wicked large shoulders, so top size we don’t need to go there (think swimmer/football shoulders).

Method: Generally, I’m going to follow a diet rife with fresh vegetables and lean meats. Limited wheat gluten intake. Especially the first few weeks, I’m going to limit my carbs. Don’t freak out! I’ve been a competitive athlete (endurance and “sprints”), for the past….blah blah blah years. The idea is to cook everything fresh, and stay away from the middle aisles in the supermarket. As for the running, I’ll be following Hal Higdon’s Novice 1 Half Marathon training program.

Timeline: Today 19 Feb is Day 1 of the “diet” (I prefer lifestyle), while the first day of the running program will be Monday 4 May, so that I have a nice 2 week adjustment period to the diet, with a nice 12 week training schedule.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Metrics

Leave a Reply

